Winners of 2013 Autosport Awards in London

Sebastian Vettel

Four-times Formula 1 world champion, Sebastian Vettel added another accolade to his trophy cabinet; last night he was awarded International Driver of the year at the Autosport Awards, motorsport’s most prestigious end-of-season gala event held at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel.  Motor racing legend Sir Stirling Moss enjoyed the honour of presenting the winners’ trophy to Sebastian Vettel.

Autosport editor Andy Van De Burgt commented: “Sebastian Vettel is an incredibly talented driver, his success speaks for itself.  However, this award is voted for by readers of Autosport, it highlights that the fans of Formula 1 really respect and admire his incredible unbeatable achievements.

“Red Bull deserves a special mention for their hard work and resulting success, the Red Bull RB9 was awarded the Autosport Racing Car of the Year accolade.  Formula 1 is all about team work and the partnership between Red Bull and Sebastian Vettel show how it’s done.”

Vettel was joined at the Awards by an amazing array of stars from the world of motor racing, which included triple F1 world champions Sir Jackie Stewart and Niki Lauda, double world champion Emerson Fittipaldi and John Surtees – the only man to win world titles on two wheels and four. Newly crowned World Endurance Champion Allan McNish and the 2013 World Rally Champion Sebastien Ogier helped to make one of the most star-studded nights in Autosport Award history.

The Autosport Awards celebrates the highlights of the motor racing calendar and was attended by over 1200 of the industries greatest drivers; present and past, executives, officials and media.

The 2013 Autosport Awards are held in association with Mercedes-Benz supported this year by Bahrain International Circuit, BMW UK, Castrol, City Diamond Exchange, G.H.Mumm Champagne, Pirelli, TATA Communications and UBS.

Full List of 2013 Autosport Awards

British Club Driver of the Year Dan Cammish
National Driver of the Year Andrew Jordan
Karting Champion Lando Norris presented by Sir Jackie Stewart
Pioneering & Innovation Nissan GT Academy
John Bolster Award McLaren presented by 2-time World Champion Emerson Fittipaldi
Rally Car of the Year Peugeot 208 T16 Pikes Peak presented by 2010 gold medallist Amy Williams MBE
International Rally Driver of the Year Sebastien Ogier presented by Christian Horner
Gregor Grant Award 1 John Surtees presented by Dario Franchitti
Gregor Grant Award 2 Niki Lauda with special message from the stars of Rush the movie
Rookie of the Year Jules Bianchi presented by Allan McNish
British Competition Driver of the Year Lewis Hamilton
Racing Car of the Year Red Bull RB9
International Racing Driver of the Year Sebastian Vettel presented by Sir Stirling Moss
McLaren Autosport BRDC Award Matt Parry

Autosport is the UK’s must-read motorsport magazine, and is revered by fans and industry personnel alike as the ultimate source of motorsport news and analysis.

The magazine’s expert editorial covers all aspects of the sport, from major international series such as Formula 1, Sports Car racing and the World Rally Championship, to the less high profile but hugely important grassroots events in UK club motorsport.

Lukket for kommentarer

Indlæg navigation